Team & Family

The Team!

Hi there everyone,

Holly Oldham – Yard Manager

Hello everyone, my name is Holly and I have worked with horses now for 9 years, I have been riding for 20 years.  I went to college to do my First Diploma in Horse Care, National Certificate in Horse Care and my National Award in Horse Care.

I have also completed my BHS Stages 1-2 and Riding and Road Safety and would hopefully like to complete my BHS Stage 3 this year. I am also a qualified First Aider on the yard too!

I love my job, I love all the animals we have on the yard, as they were all my own.  I worked alongside and became very close to Alma Horsfall and gained great knowledge and guidance from her, now Alma is no longer with us I hope to help keep the yard running, with Kevin and Oliver the owners, to how Alma would have liked it to be!

No job is too big! No ask is too small!

We are always happy to help and try and keep everyone and horses and animals happy here! Livery can be customised to how you would like it to be, and D.I.Y livery is also available here! We try or best to work as a team/family to make horse and owner happy and relaxed. We have a yard blacksmith or your welcome to use your own, on site builders to help out with the heavy lifting and general building/mending of things. Free vet visits once a month so all you have to pay for is the treatment! We try our hardest to have fun and enjoy ourselves, by yard barbacues  with the wine on full flow and rides out over the mores together even the “Touchstone Tarts Dressage Team” outings!

Come along and check out the yard, We shall look forward to meeting you!

 

 

 

 

Lauren Mitton – 25

My name is Lauren and I have been a member of the Touchstone team now since October 2008.

I enjoy my time working here as it has a fun friendly atmosphere with a warm and welcoming family like feel.

Since working here I have learnt a lot, and gained experience in the day to day care and handling of horses. I love working with animals and this has given me the opportunity to do something I really enjoy.

If you bring your horse here then you can be sure he, or she, along with you will love it and be well looked after!!

Faye Ruckledge – 23

Staff I have been riding now for 14 years and owned horses for 13 years I completed an equine science degree in 2008.

I have worked at Clough House since July 2009 after my mare came to stud here. I Like working here because i love animals  and everyone here is friendly and welcoming. I also have my horse Spider on DIY livery and we both love the atmosphere and family feel.

Clough House is an ace yard and anyone will be happy here!

Louisa Hobman – 27
lou aka louby

I have been the live in groom at the yard since Oct ’08 I live with Danny the yard builder on site. I have owned Magic my horse for 2 years who is on D.I.Y livery on the yard.

Life on the yard is very entertaining, there is always something happening!! Danny is always happy to help with any stable problems you may have with his trusty team of Robert and Johny! We are a fun loving family of  “Touchstone Tarts” we will always be happy to help!

It would be lovely to meet you!

Lou aka Louby

Kris Copley – 22

I have been at the Touchstone Stud since Oct’09 and am currently doing my NVQ level 2 in Equine Care. Since been on the yard I have met some lovely people who are very helpful. In the short time I have been here I have learnt another part of the Equine Industry which has been an excellent experience.

The Family

Faye And Spider

I have been on livery here since November 2009, my horse Spider (Alca Spider-pig) is a reg section  D 15 year old gelding. we compete mainly in dressage, but also enjoy the brilliant hacking around the yard.  The best thing for me about Clough House is that there are other like- minded people who compete regularly.

Brenda and JJ

My name is Brenda. At 53 I got my childhood wish for a pony. He is 13 a yellow dun Highland and the love of my life. We came to the yard 3 years ago both very nervous, but with the help and support of the staff and other liveries have gained confidence and now compete at dressage and showing. We hack out regularly with a group or on our own and even have pub stops in the summer. The yard is very friendly and always ready to help as a novice rider I found this invaluable.

Margaret and Cheery

Hi, I am Margaret my horse is a 15hh connemara cross thoroughbred aged 24 years young, (ps, I am 65) she is ace! dark bay with black mane and tail. she came over from Ireland (in foal) in 1986 nameless I called her Ciara which means dark haired in Gaelic, her nickname is “Cheery” cos she is not very, but I love her. We came to Clough House in May 2007 and have never looked back. We hack out, do abit of dressage, jump only when necessary. Cheery has lots of feild mates she flirts with them all! Just recently we’ve had some setbacks 2 tendon injuries and pedal bone trouble but she’s on the mend now and I am hopeing to get back in the saddle soon.

Cheery always talks to me a lot and i know shes not answering me back! shes perfect. Heres to Happy riding!

Catherine Sagar

I have my horses “Pru” on the yard for 2 years now and she is very much at home here.

Iam 34 years old and was born into a horsey family and have ridden horses since I could stand up!

I was in the local riding pony club to being 19 years old and then went into Eventing.  Pru is a 16hh Irish Sport horse which I bought to event 2 years ago, I did hope to event her last summer but i got pregnant so it was put off untill this summer.

All my training is going well and she is fit and ready to go! I am married to Sam Sagar (the Blacksmith)  and we have had a little boy together named William.William has been on the yard watching mummy ride and muck out since he was 2 weeks old.

Sam Sagar D.W.C.F

Hi my name is Sam.  I am the resident farrier at the yard. I am 31 years old. I have been a farrier for 11 years now and truly love my job. I carry out all types of shoeing, trimming and remedial work.

I am married to Catherine and have a little boy called William who is always on the yard with his mummy.

William Stanley Sagar   (Baby Blacksmith)

Hi everyone I am William

I love coming up to the yard with my mummy. I love the fresh air and looking at the horses, goats, cows, and cats and dogs. I can’t wait until I am  a bit older as my mummy says I can have a tractor so I can help out on the farm.

Sue Norton

Hi there I have been here for four years, and I can honestly say this is the happiest place I have ever been on. My girl Jazz Pzazz or Jazz at home is a rather beautiful black IDxTB mare. We do a bit of everything and as she is 18 years young now we are having a crack at veteran classes. Jazz is quite a character and her favorite occupation is eating!

Web Design Halifax